Mix It Up & Make It Nice

Amateur baker with a passion for eating!

Sweets for my sweet, sugar for my honey(comb)!

Okay, right, so now we’ve got that out of the way… hello!

You can probably guess what I’ve been making this week then: honeycomb! Basically, I’ve been watching Masterchef: The Professionals and one of the challenges was to make honeycomb decorations… and I was inspired!

It looked more difficult than it was I think. Essentially we made toffee and added bicarbonate of soda to it. It was more like a crazy science experiment than cooking!

Unfortunately, I forgot to take a photo of the crazy, foaming part, as the moment was just too exciting (okay, so maybe I should get out more…) but I will share the glorious finished product with you. Well, not in the “free tasters” sense, as unfortunately, that is not yet possible on the internet, although I hear Willy Wonka is currently working on it in his chocolate factory… *watch this space*

Okay, so this was after everything had been mixed together and dissolved and boiled and bicarb of soda-ed, but it doesn’t necessarily look too much like honeycomb… but I promise you: it will soon ๐Ÿ™‚

But first, I guess I’d better give you the recipe and method, so you can try it for yourselves if you so choose:

Honeycomb – recipe taken from Sonia Allison’s Sweets Book (published by Piatkus in 1983)

Ingredients (makes about 1 lb or 450 g)

4 oz (125 g) golden syrup

4 oz (125 g) clear honey

12 oz (350 g) granulated sugar

2 oz (50 g) butter

1 tsp vinegar (it doesn’t end up tasting at all vinegary, don’t worry!)

4 tbsp water

2 level tsp bicarbonate of soda

Method

1) Measure out all the ingredients and wang everythingย apart from the bicarbonate of soda in a large pan (you don’t want honeycomb foaming out all over your kitchen like the porridge in the Magic Porridge Pot did…)

2) Put the pan over a low heat and keep stirring the mixture until the sugar dissolves and the mixture is completely smooth.

3) Bring the mixture to the boil and cover the pan for two minutes whilst everything bubbles and boils away.

4) Uncover the pan and continue to boil the mixture (resist the temptation to stir it!) for another 7 or 8 minutes. Basically the best way to tell if it’s ready is to drop a little of the mixture into a cup of cold water, and if it turns into hard and brittle threads then it’s done. If the threads are still bendy and don’t snap, cook the mixture a bit longer.

5) If you were to pour this mixture into a pan now, you would have a lovely traditional toffee… but who would want to miss out on adding the bicarbonate of soda?! Go on – whack it in & stir everything together as it goes all foamy and wonderful!

6) Pour the mixture into a buttered 8 inch (20 cm) tin, and wait till it cools and sets.

7) Smash up the honeycomb and enjoy! (The recipe instructs us to eat the honeycomb as quickly as possible so it doesn’t go sticky… but I don’t think there’s much risk of that happening in this house at least!)

Smashing honeycomb! (Sorry, I’ve been living at home for too long… I’ve started making Dad jokes now too it seems…)

Yes, yes, yes. I know it looks rather a lot like toffee. (And the toffee hammer doesn’t help either I suppose!)

But look:

Bubbly honeycomb ๐Ÿ™‚

Wonderful – I shall be handing this out to my friends and family now, so let’s hope they appreciate it!

I told my friend last night that I would give her some honeycomb if it turned out well… and more if it didn’t. She’s going to be getting less honeycomb, yes, but probably more enjoyment from it, so I guess it’s fair ๐Ÿ˜‰

Till next time ๐Ÿ™‚

Katie x

25 comments on “Sweets for my sweet, sugar for my honey(comb)!

  1. cindy knoke
    November 30, 2012

    YUM & how creative!!!

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 30, 2012

      Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ Next time I want to try and make decorations from it… I tried this time, but I just burnt my fingers instead! x

  2. Nicky
    December 2, 2012

    This looks great. Thanks for the follow at http://www.ourlittlefamilyadventure.wordpress.com

  3. daisyandthefox
    December 4, 2012

    love the idea of smashing up (and love the hammer!) so original and looks like fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      December 5, 2012

      I wasn’t sure how else to do it to be honest ๐Ÿ˜‰ But it was quite satisfying yes!

  4. Nikki
    December 5, 2012

    Hi Katie, Thanks for following my blog. There’s so many good looking things to try on yours as well. I look forward to seeing what new things you come up with in the future. ๐Ÿ™‚ Nikki

  5. Profiteroles & Ponytails
    December 6, 2012

    I’ve been wanting to make honeycomb for a while now, so I’m glad to find your recipe. Thanks for stopping by my blog — It’s really nice to meet you!

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      December 6, 2012

      Oh you should definitely make it, it’s so fun ๐Ÿ™‚ Lovely to meet you too!

  6. Correna
    December 6, 2012

    This looks delicious, thanks for stopping by my blog and following, I checked out your blog and oh my, what a wonderful blog!!! I am following you too. Have a great day!!

  7. Shari Kelley
    December 6, 2012

    Your comment about Willy Wonka made me chuckle!:) I have never heard of making honeycomb. It sounds like an interesting project. Thanks for sharing.

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      December 11, 2012

      I’m glad it amused someone else and not just me ๐Ÿ˜‰ You should try it, it’s fun!!

  8. mmadonna1
    December 7, 2012

    Guess I’ll be making a call to my dentist after this one! Looks yummy ๐Ÿ™‚

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      December 7, 2012

      There is a lot of sugar… but as long as you brush your teeth well ๐Ÿ˜‰ And it tastes so good!

  9. catterel
    December 7, 2012

    Hi Katie – that sounds wonderful, will have to try it (and it does remind me of making toffee and fudge when I was little, so maybe one to try with the kids). Thank you for following my blog – we have the French and German in common as well as the gourmandise and first name! All the best to you.

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      December 7, 2012

      Hello! Yes, it tasted really good thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ Lots in common then! Hope you have a lovely Christmas season!

  10. moderngirlnutrition
    December 9, 2012

    Wow that turned out perfect! Thanks for stopping by my blog:)

  11. Bam's Kitchen
    December 11, 2012

    Hammer therapy is great for this time of the year! Looks delicious too. Thanks for stopping by so that I could find your site. BAM

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      December 11, 2012

      Haha, I thought for a second you were saying “BAM!”, like a superhero smashing up some honeycomb ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. dianeroark
    December 11, 2012

    Is this like Peanut Brittle? It reminds me of it.
    I lost my wordpress.com followers when I switched web host this week. If you were following me and did not get the updated post today, please follow me again. I would be grateful! Thanks and You really do have a great food blog! Many Blessings!! Diane Roark http://www.recipesforourdailybread.com

    I enjoy getting your e-mail updates and reading your stories and recipes. Blessings, Diane Roark

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      December 11, 2012

      Not sure actually, as I don’t know what peanut brittle is! Honeycomb can also be called cinder toffee I think, if that rings any bells?! Thanks for letting me know, I am now re-following you ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Christmas!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

