Mix It Up & Make It Nice

Amateur baker with a passion for eating!

Au revoir Bordeaux… until next time!

I write this back in my old room in my little village in England. With a belly full of bangers and mash.

No more French bread (well, the proper stuff anyway!), no more warm, sunny November days and no more kissing on the cheek – actually, I won’t miss that last one… I much prefer the good old handshake.

And while I was away, I was very chuffed to receive a Beautiful Blogger Award after I was nominated by Athina from Kicking Back the Pebbles! THANK YOU 🙂 And I recommend that you all check out Athina’s blog as it is full of gorgeous recipes, humour and a fair amount of Greek too, if you’re planning on learning (I will, one day!!) – and she is absolutely lovely too! What more reason could you want?!

Anyway, here’s a quick tribute to all the amazing memories I have from my ten wonderful weeks in Bordeaux! Food and travelling – my two loves 🙂

Me on the Dune du Pyla – the tallest sand dune in Europe!

Cyrano de Bergerac

Confit de Canard – YUM!

Crème brûlée 🙂

Beautiful Saint Émilion

Véritable Macaron de Saint Emilion – not all macarons are small and colourful… but these taste just as good!

Moi – enjoying a macaron!

A gorgeous Saint Émilion vineyard

Wine tasting!!

View from the top of the Dune du Pyla!

Just a few wonderful (and tasty) reasons why YOU should go to Bordeaux and visit the region – it’s gorgeous & I absolutely loved it! The best thing about working in a different place/town/country is that you get to be a tourist. You get to enjoy everything that locals probably take for granted.

I loved it 🙂 And I will miss Bordeaux. But I’m happy to see all of my friends and family again, and my stomach was happy to get some roast dinner on Sunday, as well as some cheddar cheese and some proper thick English bacon since!

But now I have an oven again. And access to my mum’s store cupboard… and hungry parents to feed 😉

Looking forward to a bit of experimenting in the kitchen 😀

À bientôt!

Katie x

 

11 comments on “Au revoir Bordeaux… until next time!

  1. KickingBackthePebbles
    November 21, 2012

    Aaahhh, Bordeaux seems gorgeous… and thank you for your kind words! 🙂

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 22, 2012

      Well thank you for nominating me 🙂 And yes, it’s a beautiful part of the world! x

  2. cindy knoke
    November 21, 2012

    You so deserve the award! Love the photos and post!

  3. petit4chocolatier
    November 22, 2012

    Congratulations! Beautiful pictures!!

  4. Dani Cee
    December 9, 2012

    I’ve always wanted to visit Bourdeaux! Great pics – it looks and sounds like you had a wonderful trip! Thanks for stopping by my blog and the like and follow! 🙂

  5. Pingback: The unspeakable-me award! (part 1) | Kicking Back the Pebbles

  6. dunedupilat.com
    October 17, 2013

    Nice picture on the dune!

  7. design center orlando
    October 2, 2014

    The greatest and the kitchen remodeling finest Kitchen cabinets will help the manufacturer to recreate in real life.
    There are cabinet dealers who offer poorer quality cabinets under the sink here.
    Paint the top of the cabinet. I used reclaimed doors as my countertops, but my biggest fear is that they’re with you from beginning until end.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

