Mix It Up & Make It Nice

Amateur baker with a passion for eating!

Food bloggers against evil chefs!

Happily reading the Guardian today when I came across this article written by chef Luke Mackay. He had witnessed a number of top chefs bullying an innocent food blogger on Twitter, simply because he had had the audacity to give a three star review to one of them.

The offended chef, Claude Bosi, sent absolutely disgusting messages to poor James Isherwood, most notably calling him a c***. Just have a look at this:

So yeah, I’m not sure exactly when it became a crime to write an honest food review, but honestly – this guy & his obnoxious friends certainly haven’t earned my respect. And while we’re on the subject of respect… I always thought the chef was supposed to gain the customer’s respect, not the other way round.

Surely a chef should be aware that if he serves up bad food, he will get bad reviews, which may in turn deter other customers. Chefs should take criticism and learn from it instead of behaving like spoilt brats and deterring even more customers than James’ original review would have done in the first place.

They may say down with bloggers, but I say down with chefs who aren’t willing to take criticism.

And as for the argument that James should have been honest and said to the chef’s face that he wasn’t entirely happy with his meal… well, who does that?! Us Brits are famous for moaning about food, but as soon as the waiter comes over and asks if everything’s okay with our meals, we smile and say, “Fine, thank you!”. Who wants to cause a scene (which I believe it inevitably would have been with someone like Claude Bosi)?

Good food gets good reviews. Bad food gets bad ones. Simple as.

#Chefsunite? Who cares. I think you’ll find there’s more of us foodies and food bloggers (a.k.a. your potential paying CUSTOMERS)… #Foodbloggersunite more like it.

Less anger, more food next time – promise ๐Ÿ™‚

Katie x

40 comments on “Food bloggers against evil chefs!

  1. Teresa
    November 8, 2012

    What a shame that Mr. Bosi has not learned basic civility or good manners. I wonder if he thinks this response will really get him more customers?

    The better thing for him to have done would have been to invite Mr. Isherwood back to his restaurant to taste some other creation or to take the original one and tweak it a little and offer him a free sample. That would have left a lasting impression on Mr. Isherwood and he would have sent more word-of-mouth business to the restaurant where he is a chef than Mr. Bosi could have ever imagined.

    Wow, I’m stunned that someone in a service industry position like this would treat paying customers in such a shocking, uncivil way. Boorish, crude language and berating customers is a sure-fired way of reducing business volume! He will lose business over this incident.

    When I have had people tell me they didn’t care for something I made, I usually just take a deep breath and try to improve the recipe for the next time or chalk it up to different tastes if I know the recipe is a good one, as is. Regardless, I move on and don’t let it get to me! Maybe Mr. Bosi should consider doing the same in the future.

    Thanks for the post.

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 9, 2012

      I completely agree with you – there were so many better ways for him to handle the situation & all he’s managed to do is to make himself look bad.

  2. midatlanticcooking
    November 8, 2012

    Unfortunately, when you are dealing with top rated chefs, everything about their success is built on their name and reputation, this goes hand in hand with their egos as well. I have had the unfortunate experience of working with chefs like this who think they are God’s gift to gastronomy. Many of them are great chefs, but there is so much money and pressure riding on their reputations, that even a minor blemish can cause the whole thing to come crashing down around them
    The great french chef Bernard Loiseau actually killed himself because of a rumor that he was going to lose a Michelin star, a false rumor. It does not justify the behavior of the chef you mentioned, but this is how the business works. Many chefs do see their reputations as life and death.

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 9, 2012

      It is true that it is a high pressure industry & I do understand that. I know that reviews can have a lot of influence on chefs’ careers, but I think that if Bosi had handled the situation with more dignity he could have improved his reputation – instead of trampling all over it, as he ended up doing.

      • THEJNSREPORT
        December 26, 2012

        I absolutely agree. Criticism is to be used to tweak and correct things where they may or may not have fallen short in the opinion of the person giving the critique. No critique no improvement. It’s a part of life. From what I read in that exchange the chef sounds like a 5 year old who hadn’t learned to play well with others. This sounds especially true when you call someone outside of their name simply because of a review which I found neither unwarranted or disrespectful just honest feedback. Perhaps the chef should only serve his meals to “Yes Men and Women” LOL

      • mixitupandmakeitnice
        December 28, 2012

        You’re right – and the review itself wasn’t terrible, he gave it 3 stars, with some bits he liked and some bits he didn’t. Some people just need to take criticism and learn and improve from it. Hope you had a lovely Christmas ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. petit4chocolatier
    November 9, 2012

    Wow, this was so interesting in so many ways. Thank you for sharing : )

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 9, 2012

      No problem – I needed to have a rant about it anyway as the situation annoyed me so much ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • petit4chocolatier
        November 9, 2012

        I absolutely loved reading it! It was fun!

      • mixitupandmakeitnice
        November 9, 2012

        Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. The Savvy Sister
    November 9, 2012

    The FRENCH guy is telling the OTHER guy to buy a pair of balls? Now I’ve heard everything.

  5. trixfred30
    November 9, 2012

    Whenever I get a crap-o-gram comment on my blog I just delete it. Can you just delete comments on Twitter? I never use it because it looks like the realm of the deranged and the drunk…I bet that chef was pissed, like I’m sure Trump was the other night when he started inciting revolution (either that or he’s senile)

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 9, 2012

      I don’t really use Twitter either so I’m not sure… but yes, he could well have been drunk, would explain a lot (including the terrible grammar). And as for Donald Trump… I have a feeling that may just be the way he is anyway?!

  6. dianeskitchentable
    December 5, 2012

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m enjoying roaming around yours & have to laugh at this one. I don’t watch tv so I’ve only heard about the crazy chefs who scream & throw things at people but it makes me wonder if they all think they have to live up to that image. Makes me think they’re all just playing a game. I prefer the food bloggers here who just make good food, tell a great story, & ooops sometimes have a kitchen disaster without all the dramatics.

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      December 5, 2012

      Haha, maybe you’re right! can’t say I’d really considered that before, but it does make sense! And yes, I completely agree ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. ohiocook
    December 5, 2012

    I’ll take home chefs anytime!! Thank you for stopping by my blog and the “Like” of my post.

  8. alexanderwillowharvey
    December 6, 2012

    gotta quote betty white โ€œWhy do people say “grow some balls”? Balls are weak and sensitive. If you wanna be tough, grow a vagina. Those things can take a pounding.โ€

  9. marianhd
    December 10, 2012

    Awesome post. Thanks for the follow, and I’m looking forward to reading more from you, too! (just clicked follow)

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      December 10, 2012

      Well thank you for the follow too ๐Ÿ˜€ Hope you have a lovely Christmas!!

  10. Roberta Briffa
    December 12, 2012

    Great read – and don’t worry about ranting. I felt the same way. I don’t have anything against someone who trained for years to become a chef, but there was no need for the chef to react that way. Loved this post and thanks for reading mine. Looking forward to spending more time reading more from you!

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      December 12, 2012

      Yeah I agree. I love reading cookbooks and watching chefs on TV – I can’t imagine most chefs would react like this, but I really did think this was beyond rude. Looking forward to following your blog – and I hope you remember to eat lunch in the future! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Roberta Briffa
    December 12, 2012

    Will do ๐Ÿ™‚ Linked this post in my blog. That’s how much I liked it. Have a great day x

  12. Pingback: Interesting read… | Chorizo & Thyme

  13. lovefromitaly
    December 12, 2012

    OK… far more likely to avoid his restaurant because of him being an arrogant idiot than from one review not being up to scratch… What a big baby!

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      December 12, 2012

      My thoughts exactly! I always think that people who leave reviews tend to be the ones who didn’t like something… and they are quite often the fussy people who are never happy anyway. So I always take reviews with a pinch of salt. The way the chef behaved puts me off much, much more.

  14. campfireshadows
    December 13, 2012

    I enjoyed reading this and all the comments to your post. I used to own a restaurant in the Florida Keys. I was despised by the other ‘Chef’s’ in the area because I took pride in calling myself a ‘Cook’! I first started my ‘cooking’ career at Stouffer’s in Cleveland, Ohio when I was in college.
    Stouffer’s is now a nationwide frozen food manufacture here and in Canada. In my day, I have worked beside some of the best Chef’s in the country. None of them were as arrogant as this buffoon who calls himself a chef. If the customer complains, taste your food to see why! Most times the customers taste budds are better than your own. To see why, read my post on 5/30/12 called chocolate cake, homemade or store bought on my Heritage and trail cooking blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      December 13, 2012

      Hey – is there any chance you could send me the link for that blog post… I can’t seem to find it but I would be interested to read it! Thanks for your comment – it’s really interesting to get a “cook’s” point of view ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • campfireshadows
        December 14, 2012

        Sure here it is; http://cookingonthetrail.wordpress.com/2012/05/30/chocolate-cake-homemade-vs-store-bought
        Just copy and paste it.
        In my cooking blog, I throw in all kinds of tips on cooking, I try also to keep the humor high so it doesn’t get too class roomy or boring.

        The truth be told, the real reason a customer might have a better time accurately tasting food is this. A chef’s taste budds become immune to the flavor of salt. It’s like a drug. The more you use it the more you need use to still be able to taste it. A chef or cook, must taste his food many times throughout the day to make sure it is consistent to what he perceives as good tasting..The problem is he is also deluging his taste budds over and over like the drug addict to his drugs.
        What they forget to do is a french chef’s trick called “Cleansing the pallet”. Take a small unsalted cracker and along with a few sips of water, mash it inside of your mouth then swallow it along with more water. DO NOT chew gum or eat mints, both will ruin your ability to taste the subtle flavors of spices or salt. A chef or cook who never cleanses his pallet throughout the day risk ending up over salting his food. To them, it will taste just right,. to the customer it will be unpalatable. This is another good reason also not to smoke. JW ๐Ÿ™‚

      • mixitupandmakeitnice
        December 14, 2012

        Yeah, that completely makes sense – my boyfriend puts salt on everything (even bacon sandwiches!!), he needs it now, otherwise it just tastes bland to him! And one of my best friends is a smoker and constantly complains that food is bland in restaurants… I tend to think it’s because she’s killed all of her taste buds! Katie x

      • campfireshadows
        December 14, 2012

        Taste budds are finicky creatures. The only way they work well is in conjunction with your sense of smell. Pinch off your nose and taste your food once…bland! Smoking shuts down your sense of smell, therefore no taste. Ask your boyfriend to quit adding salt to anything for 3 weeks. Then let him go back to eating the way he did. He’ll almost choke on how salty his food is now. Salt intake causes an imbalance in your bloods saline levels. 0.9% is normal. Your body will maintain this ratio in order to survive, it’s called ‘normal stasis’. To keep this ratio, the body must dilute the blood by increasing the water level in your blood until your kidneys can remove the excess salt. this is like filling a jug of water to the top then trying to add another cup into it. To do so would require high pressure so the jug can expand. This is what causes high blood pressure. High blood pressure effects knowing how and why the body functions too. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • mixitupandmakeitnice
        December 14, 2012

        Oh wow – I’d never really thought about what causes high blood pressure, but that makes so much sense! Thanks for the lovely (and easy to understand!) explanation ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. divorcedchic
    December 22, 2012

    Reblogged this on This Foodie's Opinion and commented:
    Wow…I thought this was an interesting post so I had to share!
    Happy Eating!

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      December 22, 2012

      Thanks for the reblog ๐Ÿ™‚ Very exciting!! I hope you have a lovely Christmas ๐Ÿ˜€

      • divorcedchic
        December 24, 2012

        You’re welcome! I just hope I never encounter that! LOL. Merry Christmas to you too!

      • mixitupandmakeitnice
        December 26, 2012

        No, it sounds a bit awful doesn’t it! I hope you had a wonderful Christmas day ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Pingback: Food bloggers against evil chefs! | THEJNSREPORT

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

