Mix It Up & Make It Nice

Amateur baker with a passion for eating!

The BEST steak and chips I have ever eaten

I should just clarify that the above statement isn’t all that grand in itself. As a girl who never really liked beef (unless it was minced and in spag bol), I never went for the steak option in restaurants. Steak was wayyyy down my list of things to eat. Until L’Entrecôte.

It was the first day of my parent’s and sister’s visit to Bordeaux. I had finished work and we were exploring/on the hunt for somewhere to eat. Now, we had walked along by the river and the Miroir d’Eau and up to the Grand Théatre (all places to see if you’re ever in Bordeaux, by the way!)

Monument aux Girondins

And then we walked by a restaurant which I had already heard a lot about, even though I wasn’t quite sure what food they served. I had heard that L’Entrecôte was a reasonably priced and hugely popular restaurant, outside which, every evening without fail, there was always a queue of hungry customers. I had also been told that it had a set menu (apart from dessert, where you do get a choice), but not what was on that set menu.

So when we walked past a restaurant with a queue outside, I realised this must be it. And when we realised that it had literally just opened as we were standing there and talking about it, and that we would just be able to waltz in and not queue at all, we decided to go in.

And, oh, what a good decision that was.

The set menu comprised of salad with walnuts and, as you may have already gathered, steak and chips! It was 17€ per head and the bottle of red we had with it wasn’t included, but the portion sizes were big (too big for us to take up the offer of more chips – or should I say fries?! ) and we all hugely enjoyed our meals.

Walnut salad

The salad wasn’t the most exciting starter ever and, to be honest, I’m not such a fan of French salads anyway – they always seem to put too much vinaigrette on for my liking. But luckily, there were better things to come…

Our steak: well done and rare

We all agreed – the steak was wonderful! My mum went all French and had her steak rare, whilst the rest of us had ours well done. The sauce was lovely and the meat was tender – and chopped up into handy strips, which made it easier for us to stuff our faces. Ahem. I mean, enjoy our meal. Without all the cutting malarkey, don’t you know…

And the chips… gorgeous – thin and crisp, with the skin left on (for extra nutrition, obvs) 🙂

YUM

And that was our first adventure with the restaurants of Bordeaux – and we came out very full and satisfied. Only to walk about five minutes down the road and bump into two real, live camels (true story)…

Right, thinking about food has made me hungry, so I’m off to make some dinner!!

Bon appétit 🙂

Katie x

7 comments on “The BEST steak and chips I have ever eaten

  1. cindy knoke
    November 6, 2012

    Oh I miss eating this in Brittany and Bordeaux! And everything else too!

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 7, 2012

      I know what you mean! I’m leaving Bordeaux in less than two weeks now, and although I’m missing English food now, I know I’ll be craving proper French bread before long, let alone all the other gorgeous food!!

  2. petit4chocolatier
    November 8, 2012

    Surprising on the salad. But the rest of the food looks delicious!

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 8, 2012

      Yeah the salad was a bit disappointing! Then again, maybe they wanted to keep it light so everyone would have more room for steak and chips 🙂

  3. smilewanderer
    November 30, 2012

    yummy yummy…

  4. taishinana
    December 14, 2012

    It sounds good on the picture. I love when french fries are very crunchy like these ones.

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      December 14, 2012

      Oh yes, it was so good! I agree – chips MUST be crunchy, however thick or thin they are, a crunchy outside is essential 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

