Mix It Up & Make It Nice

Amateur baker with a passion for eating!

Very Inspiring Blogger Award

Hello everyone!

I know I’ve been a bit slack recently with my blogging, but I’m back with a vengeance now! And one very lovely award nomination too 🙂 Thank you so much to Teresa from Can’t Stay Out of the Kitchen (and get checking out her blog, because there really are so many amazing recipes on thereyou can’t not love it!!) who nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award! Can’t tell you how happy I was to receive this, I get excited every time someone likes and comments on my posts, and follows my blog!

This award also allowed me to discover some of Teresa’s other nominations & spend some (probably too much) time drooling over their recipes and food photos! I have bookmarked about 50 million recipes to try for myself – I don’t think I’ll ever need a cook book again 😉

Anyway, here’s how the award works…

RULES FOR THE AWARD:

1.  Link back to the person who nominated you.

2.  Nominate 15 bloggers to receive the award.

3.  Share 7 facts about yourself.

NOMINATIONS FOR BLOGGERS WHO HAVE INSPIRED ME:

1. Homemade with Mess

2. Fish, Chips and Gelato

3. Emily Cooks Vegan (lucky I checked this through, as I had originally written this as “Emily Cooks Vegans”, which would be an entirely different and slightly more controversial blog, I imagine…)

4. Life Out of the Box

5. Frugal Feeding

6. The Bubbly Baker

7. Scrumptious and Sumptuous

8. Dandelion Dinners

9. Petit4Chocolatier

10. Sweet Little Thang

11. One Happy Table

12. Cheffie’s Kitchen

13. Adrienne Cooks

14. Sophie’s Foodie Files

15. Love and Cupcakes

SEVEN FACTS ABOUT KATIE AT “MIX IT UP AND MAKE IT NICE”

1. This probably isn’t cool for a food blogger to admit, but one of my favourite foods is plain pasta covered in a generous helping of grated cheddar cheese. I used to be the fussiest eater and sometimes I even ate this for breakfast… But mainly I associate it with Sunday evenings spent watching old Hayley Mills’ films we’d recorded off the TV (you know, The Parent Trap, In Search of the Castaways…), so it’s still my ultimate super lazy comfort food!

2. Sometimes, when I’m being a cheapskate (which is a lot of the time at the moment!), I resist buying chocolate/sweets/crisps at the supermarket, only to get massive chocolate cravings later… so I end up picking all of the chocolate chips out of my cereal!

3. I just graduated this summer with a degree in French and German, but I’m still not sure what I want to do with my life… All I know is that I’m going to find something I love, and when I do, I’m going to give it my all!

4. I’m from a little village in England, and whilst it’s one of my favourite places in the whole world, I also love living in different countries and experiencing their cultures! So far I’ve lived in France (in Bordeaux and in a little town in the Vosges as well) and Germany (Frankfurt and Munich), but I’m hoping to expand that list!

5. I absolutely LOVE travelling and spent six weeks exploring East Africa (I spent a month volunteering in a primary school in Uganda, and then a friend and I travelled across Kenya and Tanzania, ending our trip in Zanzibar!). I have also been to Nova Scotia in Canada, and have travelled around Western Australia a bit (two weeks is NOT long enough!!!). And then there’s Belgium, Austria, the Netherlands, Scotland, Wales, Switzerland, Luxembourg, Egypt and Italy… but I still have so much more to see 🙂

6. I’m a bit of an adrenaline junkie… I’ve bungee jumped head first into the Nile and have gone white water rafting in Uganda (on grade 5 rapids my very first time – not sure that’s legal in the UK…)

Okay, so it was more like feet first but my head did go in the water 😉

7. And lastly, I’m a bit of a freak of nature… I can lick my elbow (really) and my nose, and I’m 6″1. I am absolutely sick of people coming up to me and telling me that I’m tall and then asking me whether I’m a model/I play basketball. I know there are much worse things in the world, but it happens so often that it drives me completely crazy! I’m terrible at basketball (netball is my game, and no one outside of the Commonwealth has heard of it) and I only have one photo face, which is “Cheeeeeeeese!” 😉

So there’s a few facts about me & I hope you’re not too bored now! Thank you again to Teresa for nominating my blog 🙂

Right, I’d better be off now, but I’ll be back soon with some food-/travel-related blog entries soon (honestly, I’ve eaten so much recently that I’m surprised someone didn’t have to roll me to my laptop to write this!!).

Happy eating 🙂

Katie x

15 comments on “Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. mypieceofgreen
    November 1, 2012

    I wonder if there are Inspiring Blogger Awards for other types of blogs apart from food?

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 1, 2012

      I think it’s for all types of blogs, to be honest! I did include a travel blog in there as well, but it’s just a list of the blogs I read most often 🙂 I saw this exact same award on this blog just the other day: http://bassasblog.wordpress.com/ (well worth a read, too!). Katie x

  2. Teresa
    November 1, 2012

    Loved your “7 things” Katie. And I loved the blog recommendations. Got quite a few new ones to “follow!”

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 1, 2012

      Oh my gosh, just realised I spelt your name wrong – so sorry! Have changed it already! Thanks for being too nice to call me up on it 🙂

      • Teresa
        November 1, 2012

        No worries! I’m used to having it spelled and pronounced all kinds of ways!

  3. petit4chocolatier
    November 2, 2012

    Congratulations on your award and for your degree! The world is your oyster now! Thank you so much for the recognition! I really appreciate your kindness.
    Sincerely,
    judy

  4. tartanpancakes
    November 3, 2012

    Congrats on your award!

  5. fabliss
    November 3, 2012

    Congrats!!

  6. backyardsisters
    November 10, 2012

    It’s fun reading your 7 facts, especially numbers 1 and 7. The Backyard Sisters are huge! Haley Mills fans. (But we must admit we saw those films you mentioned in the theaters when they were first released.) We’ve also faced our share of tall moments. You might enjoy our post “Is it short in here, or is it just me?” dated Aug. 16. I’ll bet you can relate to most of the comments tall girls hear.Congratulations on the award and here’s hoping you keep forever your spirit of humor and adventure.

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 10, 2012

      Thank you so much 🙂 Ahh yes the tall comments are universal I think, but I found it happens more in France as the people are shorter… I loved living in Germany because people there are tall & I felt much more normal 🙂

  7. namitatickare
    December 7, 2012

    hey Katie…thanks for stopping by my blog….u too have a lovely blog over here….loved it…keep up thank u….

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      December 7, 2012

      Hello 🙂 Thank you for your lovely comment! I look forward to following your blog & learning more about Indian cooking 😀

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 1, 2012 by in Awards, Baking, Food and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

