Mix It Up & Make It Nice

Amateur baker with a passion for eating!

Eating cheaply… HELP NEEDED!!!

Salut tout le monde! 🙂

I am writing this post from my new flat in Bordeaux. Yes, in France! The land that gourmands dream of. I’ll be living here until mid-November, but the terrible irony of my situation is that I am super skint. Which means I can’t really justify splashing out on good food all the time (although I really wish I could!). And then, to add to that, my kitchen is… well, not very well equipped. For starters, I don’t have an oven. Or a freezer. Just some hobs and a microwave.

At the moment, I have been eating pitta bread with salami for lunch, and pasta with tomato sauce for dinner. Practically every day. I cannot survive until mid-November like this!

I need YOUR HELP 🙂

If you have any super cheap & super easy recipes… send them my way 🙂 Tasty packed lunch and evening meal suggestions are what I really need… plus the odd sugary/chocolatey pudding idea, of course 😉 I have so little money at the moment, so I would prefer not to have to buy 50 million ingredients… and would love it if the ingredients I do buy are versatile & can be used in lots of different meals!

I would be unbelievably grateful if anyone could help me out – links to blogs and websites would be much appreciated 🙂

Now, just in case this begging, pleading post isn’t very interesting… let me show you some of the wonderful food and drink I have had the chance to taste during my time here!

C’est cidre. Not cider. Oh, and that’s a galette. Not a crêpe 😉

Well, you can’t come to France without eating a galette or two. Or three. And you can’t have a galette without following it with a crêpe for pudding. I’m pretty sure that’s the law here…

Just a few barrels of wine… each containing approx. 300 bottles of wine. That would be one amazing party!

This was taken on a wine tasting tour! Went to have a nosy round the château du Taillan to see how the good stuff is made. Didn’t manage to steal a barrel unfortunately >.<

Anyway, that’s all the good food I’ve have so far… thanks in advance to anyone who helps me improve this tally 🙂

Katie xxx

26 comments on “Eating cheaply… HELP NEEDED!!!

  1. Pingback: Eating cheaply… HELP NEEDED!!! | Home Far Away From Home

  2. galleykitchengal
    September 18, 2012

    Hi! I can offer a few ideas from my blog about cooking without heat (designed for no-power situations, but can apply to oven-free ones, too!), though I’m not sure how easily you can procure some of these ingredients in France …
    See it here. You can also easily scramble or poach eggs in a microwave. I’ll keep looking!

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      September 18, 2012

      Thank you!! Here I am moaning about not having an oven… well, at least I have electricity… and a lot of other things to be grateful for too! Will have a look around the supermarché for the ingredients for your Mexican caviar as it looks awesome… maybe I’ll invite a few people round to split the cost 😉 And eggs is a great idea, not sure why I didn’t think of that one *doh*! Merci beaucoup 😀 Katie x

  3. Hannah (BitterSweet)
    October 2, 2012

    Lentils and rice are my go-to cheap pantry staples. Lentil soup, burritos, rice pilaf, risotto, curry, etc… The two can be mixed and matched in many different ways with numerous seasonings to keep things interesting.

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      October 3, 2012

      Hi Hannah! Thank you 🙂 I never thought of lentils, but I haven’t touched them since I had some “horrible” lentil soup back when I was a fussy eater… may have to give them a go again! Rice is a definite go-to though – how the hell did I not think of rice?!? x

  4. dianeroark
    October 24, 2012

    I would suggest sweet potatoes or a baked potato. You can fix them in the microwave and put almost anything on them from canned chili, bbq, roast and gravy, and on and on. I have a recipes using sliced roast beef from the deli and made a brown gravy with onions served over a baked potato. It is delicious. For other recipe ideas see http://recipesforourdailybread.com/category/meals-on-a-budget/
    I am going to work on growing this category of my blog. Blessings Always, Diane Roark
    I look forward to following your blog.

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 2, 2012

      Thanks for your suggestions! Have found some good ideas on your blog too 🙂 I didn’t think of baked potatoes because I see them as oven food, but I’ve been eating them pretty regularly and with a variety of toppings since you suggested it – so good; thanks for a great idea 😀

  5. lalarukh36
    November 1, 2012

    Hey just love your writing style… You can google the ideas or there is one on my blog you can have a look at it. xoxo

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 2, 2012

      Thank you so much 🙂 Yup google always helps! Couldn’t find the idea on your blog though… could you send me a link? I’d love to check it out 🙂 Katie x

  6. littleleopardbook
    November 1, 2012

    Hi Katie, if you have a small electric grill such as a “George Foreman” you could make these delicious little burgers, they’re my new go-to!, Super delicious, inexpensive and packed with nutrition! Hope this helps 🙂 http://littleleopardbook.com/2012/10/11/chopped-challenge-thursday-quinoa-jalapenos-red-peppers-and-marshmallow-fluff/

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 2, 2012

      Hey! I love your blog – amazing idea to get people to suggest the ingredients! I think the marshmallow fluff thing would have thrown me! Looks like a great recipe, don’t have a George Foreman but I guess I could fry them in a pan? Thanks for your suggestion!!

      • littleleopardbook
        November 2, 2012

        Thanks Katie!! Definitely fry them in a pan, that would work too!

      • littleleopardbook
        November 2, 2012

        Also, if you have any ingredient suggestions for next week, check out my Facebook page on Monday!

      • mixitupandmakeitnice
        November 2, 2012

        Hmmm, I shall get thinking then… *trying to think of most awkward ingredient possible* 😉

      • littleleopardbook
        November 2, 2012

        Haha, bring it on!! As long as it’s not marshmallow fluff… again!!! 😉

      • mixitupandmakeitnice
        November 2, 2012

        Nahh… fluff doesn’t qualify as food in my book 😉 Plus, it’s already been done!

      • littleleopardbook
        November 2, 2012

        Nice!! Glad we’re on the same page there 🙂

      • mixitupandmakeitnice
        November 2, 2012

        And yet you manage to make it into some pretty good looking sauces! Magic 🙂

      • littleleopardbook
        November 2, 2012

        Why thank you! Since it’s basically just sugar and corn syrup it works well as a sticky little sweetener in sauces!

  7. thekittchen
    November 1, 2012

    Maybe this will help – I posted about how I made 5 meals for 2 people that cost me only $32.50 total. Here is a link, I hope it helps! http://thekittchen.com/2012/10/02/5-meals-for-32-50-recap/

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 2, 2012

      Thanks for your link – that is such a great idea 🙂 I especially like the fact that all your recipes use up everything you bought so you’re not going out buying new stuff every time/wasting food! This may just become my meal plan, the recipes look fab 🙂

  8. laceyjbrown
    November 1, 2012

    Lentils! Farmers markets! I try to spend as little as possible on food and have lots of recipes. Made something I have made will pique your interest! Congrats on moving to France. *Jealous!*

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 2, 2012

      Lentils seem to be a popular suggestion… and they never even crossed my mind! Unfortunately I won’t be in France for much longer, but I will still have to be eating cheaply when I get home so thank you so much for sharing your ideas – much appreciated 🙂

  9. AmyS
    November 2, 2012

    Check out my rice, vegetable and cheese patties that I posted a few days ago. They were super delicious plus cheap and easy!

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 2, 2012

      Oh those do look good! I shall definitely be following that recipe, but I’m not sure I can say the same about the workout 😉

  10. larswillumcuisine
    February 3, 2013

    Thanks for visitng my Cuisine. Eat like the French (little) and drink the fabulous redwine……

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2012 by in Baking, Cider, Crêpes, Drinks, Food, Galettes, Ingredients, Wine and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 239 other followers

