Mix It Up & Make It Nice

Amateur baker with a passion for eating!

Chocolate brownie time!

Chocolate brownies – almost ready to go in the oven!

So I haven’t been baking for a while, and when I have cooked something… I’ve forgotten to take a photo. Doh. I feel that a food blog needs photos, as it gives the reader something to drool over. I absolutely love reading food blogs. Except for the fact that they make me so hungry!

Everyone who writes food blogs seems to be absolutely amazing at not only baking, but also photography. Their food looks like little edible works of art. Mine looks like food made by an amateur baker who is definitely no photographer, so apologies for that 😉

Anyway, tomorrow we are having a big family do at my house for my dad’s 60th birthday. Mum has been preparing food for weeks, but I have to admit I haven’t contributed as much as I wanted to. In the end, I made brownies. Chocolate brownies for the birthday party of a man who doesn’t really like chocolate products… but hey, I’m sure they will be eaten just the same!

I have been making these chocolate brownies for years – I got the recipe from my Junior Cook cookbook (the same one I got the truffle recipe from!). It makes me laugh every time I look at the recipe, because I’ve written a comment in pencil at the top, obviously after the first time I ever made them:

“Dad says 1/2 sugar amount – “Too sweet”. V. nice – omit nuts if u wnt.”

I must’ve written this when I was about 12, as demonstrated by the lovely use of “txt tlk”. I love this, because it’s so clear that I don’t agree about the sugar, or the fact that these brownies are “too sweet”.

I have never thought they are too sweet and no one else has ever said this to me (in fact, I once got asked for the recipe at a bake sale, so I think that’s an overwhelming success!). It’s just my dad, it seems. The man who doesn’t love chocolate. Sometimes it’s hard to believe that this man is my father 😛

Anyway, these brownies really are quick and easy to make – and they really are amazing! If you love chocolate, you will adore these – I promise you! My dad might not be so keen, but there will be lots more food to tempt him tomorrow, so don’t worry about him 😉

Happy birthday Papa & bon appétit to everyone else!

Katie xxx

Amazing Chocolate Brownies, taken from The Junior Cook (published by Murdoch Books in 2007)

Ingredients

40 g plain flour

60 g cocoa powder

500 g sugar

125 g chopped pecans or pistachios (which can be omitted – and which I always omit)

250 dark chocolate, chopped

250 g butter

2 teaspoons vanilla essence

4 eggs, lightly beaten

Method

1) Get the oven ready – 180°c (160 °c in fan oven)/350°f/gas 4

2) Mix the flour, cocoa powder, sugar and chopped chocolate together (and the nuts, if using!). My sister tells me that one is supposed to sift the flour to get air into it & sift the cocoa powder to get the lumps out. I have never done this… and the resulting brownies are still awesome, so I guess it’s not that crucial?! Paul Hollywood and Mary Berry of the Great British Bake Off fame would probably be able to tell the difference, but luckily I’m not cooking for them!

3) Melt the butter (in a pan/in the microwave/any other way you want as long as the butter melts!)

4) Add the melted butter, the eggs and the vanilla essence to the dry mixture – stir well until everything is combined!

5) Pour the finished mixture into a baking try lined with baking paper (the recipe book suggests a 20 x 30 cm tin. I just choose randomly)

6) Whack the brownies in the oven for about 45 minutes.

7) Take out of the oven and leave to cool before cutting.

8) EAT SOME BROWNIES. Share if you feel you can bring yourself to 😉

Anyone want to lick the bowl?

4 comments on “Chocolate brownie time!

  1. Sophie33
    October 14, 2012

    I have nver seen eggs in brownies before but they sure look good to me! But thta’s way too much eggs & sugar for me!

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      October 15, 2012

      That’s strange… I just googled chocolate brownie recipes to check that I haven’t been making some weird recipe for all these years! But all of them do have eggs in – don’t think I’ve ever come across brownies without eggs in! Interesting 🙂 And you can never have too much sugar or eggs 😉 x

  2. coffeeanddessert
    December 13, 2012

    I love chocolate brownies… actually I like everything with chocolate 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 1, 2012 by in Baking, Brownies, Chocolate and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

