Mix It Up & Make It Nice

Amateur baker with a passion for eating!

My Mother’s Amazing Roast Dinners

Put simply: YUM!

So as you may have gathered, my parents have been away for a couple of weeks. They came back bearing shortbread and other lovely gifts, although I can’t say I was too pleased to see them at that moment, as they came back early.

Now, I had had a barbeque with friends the night before and there was a tonne of washing up to be done. My plan was to have everything clean and ready by the time my parents got back, with dinner in the oven. But it wasn’t to be.

My parents were greeted with the words, “You weren’t supposed to be home yet!!!”, which I’m sure was a lovely welcome…

Anyway, my mum was excited to have her kitchen back and a garden full of fresh vegetables, so she celebrated by making one of her famous roast dinners: roast pork!

My mum makes a roast every Sunday, almost without fail, and they really are amazing! This time we had roast pork with apple sauce, but my absolute favourite has to be when she serves roast pork with carrot sauce!

No one has ever heard of carrot sauce, but my mum found it in a cookbook one day and we have never looked back… I will get her to make it one day/learn how to make it myself, and I will definitely give you guys the recipe, because it is THE BEST sauce in the world (bold claim, but true!).

Anyway, thank you Mum for all of the wonderful roasts over the years and welcome home! I guess I will have to get used to sharing “my” kitchen again… 😉

Katie xxxx

4 comments on “My Mother’s Amazing Roast Dinners

  1. Roberta
    September 1, 2012

    Hi Katie, I’m glad I found your blog (though you found mine first!) because this carrot sauce has caught my attention and now I won’t be pleased until you give us the recipe!

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      September 1, 2012

      Hi Roberta! Yes, the carrot sauce is amazing, you need to try it! Am going away to France for a while, but, as luck would have it, I’m coming back on a Saturday… roast pork with carrot sauce will make the perfect welcome home Sunday dinner – and I will put the recipe up then! Katie x

  2. cindy knoke
    October 28, 2012

    Wow, the pork looks good! Your story here was great! Keep on bloggin…..

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 1, 2012

      Thank you so much 🙂 I’ve not been blogging as much as I’d like at the moment – gonna get back on it now! Especially since I’m home soon, with an oven and everything 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 22, 2012 by in Food, Pork, Roast dinner.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

