Mix It Up & Make It Nice

Amateur baker with a passion for eating!

Pancake Day should happen twice a year…

Pancake day mark II!

Well, I’ve just had my second pancake day of the year – and it was amazing!

I had a lemon left over from when I made my chocolate courgette cake, and was looking for a recipe to use it up. But as I’m not a massive fan of lemony desserts, that discounted a fair amount of recipes… and all of the others seemed to require multiple lemons. So I decided I would use the juice in its purest form: freshly squeezed and poured all over pancakes!

And seeing as I was making pancakes anyway, why not go the whole hog and make savoury AND sweet pancakes to cover dinner and dessert at the same time?

When I was younger, my parents and I used to go on holiday to Brittany in France, and every year we would go to the same crêperie. And every year I would have a cheese galette (a savoury crêpe made from buckwheat flour) followed by a chocolate crêpe with ice cream. I absolutely loved that crêperie. I haven’t been for years, but I most definitely plan on going back one day – it’d better still be there!

Now, I didn’t make crêpes today. I made pancakes. English-style pancakes. I made the batter (I got the recipe from BBC GoodFood), and separated it into two jugs. I then added some grated cheese to the savoury batter and some lemon zest to the sweet one.

Bacon and cheese… mmmmmm!

One thing I have never understood is how Americans can eat pancakes with bacon and maple syrup. Bacon is a savoury food and should be paired with cheese. Putting bacon with syrup just reminds me of Will Ferrell’s character putting syrup on spaghetti bolognese in Elf.

Just watching that has got me in the Christmas spirit, which is not ideal for August. But anyway, I think I got a little sidetracked…

For my sweet pancake, I added the classic toppings of lemon and sugar – you really can’t beat it!

Lemon and sugar pancake!

So that was my second pancake day of the year. I enjoyed it so much that I think we should start a movement to have two pancake days a year! And without the fasting part afterwards 😉

The only thing my August pancake day is missing is a good old pancake race. Maybe I’ll call some friends and see if they fancy a trip down memory lane…

Katie xxxx

2 comments on “Pancake Day should happen twice a year…

  1. never2late2change
    November 1, 2012

    Thank you for the new take and an old food – I love the clip and the movie. Great start to my day.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 16, 2012 by in Bacon, Cheese, Lemon, Pancakes, Pancakes, Savoury, Sugar, Sweet and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 239 other followers

