Mix It Up & Make It Nice

Amateur baker with a passion for eating!

Frittata for lunch, anyone?

Cooking my courgette and feta frittata!

So I went out this morning & harvested some courgettes from the garden!

The first dish I decided to make was Dandelion Dinners’ Courgette and Feta Frittata.

I would just like to say that I may not have followed all of the instructions in the above link perfectly, and although my frittata tasted amazing, the finished dish didn’t look like something you would get in a restaurant.

But then again, the most important part is most definitely the taste – and I loved it (yes, I know, me, the courgette hater!)!

This frittata recipe is really easy to make. And quick, too.

Not that that stopped me from messing it up slightly… :S

Firstly, I didn’t notice the part where it says “Serves 2”. I can tell you from experience that this frittata most definitely does serve 2. My food baby will attest to that.

Secondly, I didn’t use a non-stick frying pan. Mainly because my mother doesn’t own one (they get stratched and “sticky” too quickly). Also, I didn’t read to the end of the instructions. So when my frittata was cooked on the bottom but not quite ready on the top, I attempted to flip it.

Now, the instructions do not involve any flipping. They clearly state that the frittata should be put under the grill to finish off cooking the top.

I’m not sure my flipping made any difference whatsoever to the taste, but it did ruin the presentation just a tad. I ended up flipping it in sections as it wouldn’t all flip at the same time – yup, it was stuck to the bottom of the pan…

Then again, when you’re cooking for yourself, who cares about presentation?

After all, I am an amateur [read: complete novice] cook.

So here’s a photo of my frittata. Please do not judge the recipe on this photo. It genuinely tasted amazing and I would definitely recommend trying this recipe. Just don’t make the same mistakes I did 🙂

My attempt at making a courgette and feta frittata!

Just one last thing: yesterday I said, “I have a theory that pretty much everything tastes better when you add cheese and heat it up”. I would like to amend this theory: “Pretty much everything tastes better when grate it up into tiny, almost unnoticeable pieces, add cheese and heat it up”.

Great recipe 🙂

Katie xxxx

5 comments on “Frittata for lunch, anyone?

  1. Pingback: The soup with a Kermit-the-Frog-green hue « Mix It Up & Make It Nice

  2. Dandelion Dinners
    August 17, 2012

    Ha ha – in fairness, I’ve had a couple turn out like that too. I am currently adding “use a non-stick frying pan” to the instructions – in BOLD 😉 Thanks for trying out the recipe, hope it tasted ok despite appearances.

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      August 20, 2012

      It tasted amazing (and who cares about appearances when it tastes so good?!) – we have loads more courgettes to use up so I will be cooking it again soon! Thanks for the recipe 🙂 Katie

  3. cindy knoke
    October 28, 2012

    A courgette is a zucchini??
    Hopefully?
    I grow them by the bushels, and love them in a frittata. (My spell check is saying I spelled this word wrong).
    So… your f-word (sp) looks wonderful, and I wholeheartedly agree, add cheese when in doubt. It can only make everything better.
    This looks really good, and I agree, every time, taste over appearance rules! Plus you mixed yours up and made it looks really nice!
    Like your blog. 🙂

    • mixitupandmakeitnice
      November 1, 2012

      Yup – we Brits use the French word “courgette”, Americans use the Italian “Zucchini”… but they are both the same thing 🙂 Thanks so much for your lovely comment! Katie x

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2012 by in Courgette, Feta, Frittata, Savoury, Zucchini and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 239 other followers

