Mix It Up & Make It Nice

Amateur baker with a passion for eating!

Courgette Challenge!

One of my dad’s courgette plants

My parents have been on holiday for the last week & I’ve been enlisted to tend to the garden.

Which includes trying to eat all the ripe veggies. Even the courgettes (or zucchinis, whatever you want to call them 🙂 ).

Now, I reeeally don’t like courgettes. It’s something about the texture. And the taste. Just courgettes in general really.

So, as you can guess, I have been putting off doing anything with the millions of courgettes sprouting in the garden. But now, with WordPress food bloggers on my side, I have decided to try and find some recipes which could possibly, maybe make this horrible veggie (I know, it’s technically a fruit… but who cares?) edible 🙂

After searching WordPress for a while, I found a recipe for Chocolate Zucchini Cake on Scrumptious and Sumptuous which looks AMAZING. Admittedly, it may be because it looks like chocolate cake and nothing like courgettes. But it does have courgettes in, so it totally counts…

Okay, so maybe if the cake is cheating a teensy bit, I should probably try some recipes which are a bit more courgette-y…

1) I found this recipe for Courgette and Pea Soup on lucysfriendlyfoods, which may include courgettes… but combines them with one of my favourite foods in the world, the pea 🙂

2) I have a theory that pretty much everything tastes better when you add cheese and heat it up, so Dandelion Dinners’ recipe for Courgette and Feta Frittatas is the perfect way to put this theory to the test.

So now I’ve picked my recipes, all I have to do is get cooking.

Will get started tomorrow – I’ll let you know how it goes!

Katie xxxx

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2012 by in Courgette, Food, Zucchini and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

